[Magic Mondays] 30 Minute Brew: Goblin Storm

MY co,umn about Magic: The GahteringWith Woo’s Dirty Red becoming the guiding principle for RDW, I decided to scrap my current version of RB Aggro and come up with another take on the RDW archetype entirely. In a Johnny storm of deck building, I put together a crazy little list half an hour before FNM, I call it Goblin Storm.

  • 4 Chandra, The Firebrand
  • 4 Burn at the Stake
  • 4 Krenko’s Command
  • 4 Goblin Rally
  • 2 Krenko, Mob Boss
  • 2 Gisela, Blade of Goldnight
  • 4 Kruin Striker
  • 4 Searing Spear
  • 4 Goblin Arsonist
  • 4 Guttersnipe
  • 4 Increasing Vengance
  • 10 Mountain
  • 4 Plains
  • 4 Clifftop Retreat
  • 2 Slayer’s Stronghold

Based on a staple design that utilizes Goblin Grenade (sadly missing from this standard) and massive number of Goblins, the deck makes up for the missing piece with Burn at the Stake. Combined with Chandra’s replicate ability, the deck is designed to run over control and midrange by dropping haymakers each turn. Krenko doubles your goblins every turn, Kruin Striker gets absurdly large and Gisela gets in for the finish (if the game goes that long). Hilariously, Zombies did well at both GP’s this weekend so sweepers, which had been sideboard cards, will likely be a mainboard again which definitely hurts, but I think I can still handle it.

The secret is the transformational sideboard…well that’s the goal at any rate. I suppose siding in a couple extra plains and a few humans isn’t really all that transformative, but I’m sure the switch from Red with a splash to full on Boros would be one heck of a surprise when they go to sweep and I Rootborn defenses my nine  ten goblins. I wish I had the room to have a bit more burn, four spears handles most threats, but I had a pretty bad match against Zombies and feel like I could use the Pillars to handle those troublesome Gravecrawlers and Messengers.

  • 3 Nevermore
  • 3 Knight of Glory
  • 2 Plains
  • 4 Pillar of Flame
  • 3 Rootborn Defenses

I don’t believe that there’s a GPT at my store this weekend, so there’s only two FNM’s between here and the SCGOpen. I’m not sure if I’ll be running Goblin Storm or Group Hug, but I will be going and taking a shot at top eight. Catch ya’ll next week!

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 11/19/2012, in Gaming, Magic Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment