Writing as a WriMo

Day three 1PM, 1274/3334

Still haven’t even hit day one’s benchmark and I’ve been trying to not write about my process, lest I waste my precious moments of free time, but I keep hearing this idea instead of what I need to. I figure then that I’ll get this idea out and move along and who knows, maybe someone will read it! 😀

Forcing myself to write every day, at every opportunity, I’ve found that even as I try to adhere to the NaNoWriMo spirit of “press on and not go back”, it’s nearly impossible for me. I’ve known this fact for some time now, but usually its not as obvious when I only sit down a couple hours at a time a few days a week. Not to put too fine a point on it but, I feel that I write like many paint. When working on a scene, I’ll write a sentence with little effort and then move on—rinse, repeat, and so forth. These paragraphs are rough and full of generalizations.

Eventually though I can’t really put down anything anymore. Every sentence is wrong, my momentum dies off, and I stall. Once I’ve hit that wall, I find the only thing I can really do is go back and try to recapture the flow. Reading over, my fingers move on their own almost, changing this word, adding in a new though. The formerly dinky sentence becomes a paragraph, then two, then four and by time I’ve gotten to where I stalled out, I have the momentum back and I go at it again.

Obviously this cycle doesn’t contribute to a quickly growing word count, but does create a smoother piece. In the context of NaNo it’s the the best strategy, but I’m stuck with it. That is, unless ya’ll have some advice to just write. Besides, well, just write XD.

’til next time~!

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 11/03/2011, in NaNoWriMo, Story, Theory and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sean Lane Fuller

    Just write, Man. Let the words flow. Don’t look back until your done. Even if you forget a detail from earlier in the story, like a name, just use a new one. Go back and fix it afterward. Besides, the reconstructed detail might be even better than the original. And try to keep the keys clicking, even if your character just looks down idly and checks their watch or picks lint off their clothing or something. You might come up with a nice detail that makes the story seem more real. You are going to cut stuff in the second draft anyway.

Leave a Reply

