Suddenly Stonecoast!

Back from my first residency up at USM’s Stonecoast MFA and I’ve got some stories to tell.

First though, some pitching. I just want to say that for anyone who writes and wants to get better (in the pursuit of being published) an MFA program is a good step to take. Not necessarily because it will magically make you a better writer (only writing can do that), but because interacting with others, both in and outside of your genre, gives you a new perspective on your work. The deadlines don’t hurt either.

Honestly, if you had a strong writing group, you could do the same thing there (an MFA just does the vetting for you). There are, however, a fair number of things that an MFA can give you that a writing group can’t. The piece of paper doesn’t hurt, but really it’s the connections to the community at large. Although I can’t speak to all programs, I can say that Stonecoast’s community is well worth being part of. (Now just to live up to their expectations…) I’ll prolly talk more about community later on, I’ve apparently got a guest spot on a friends blog.

Other things:
I’ve updated the sidebar to track my project statuses. I’ll try my best to post snippets here and there of what I’m writing.
I’ve also started linking to friends’ blogs. Currently all I have is Mur Lafferty’s “I should be writing” which is a podcast for newbie and expert writers alike.
I plan, plan, on picking back up on Successful With Errors. I’ve been posting sketches, but I really should get back to working on the comic proper.

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 01/19/2012, in Slice of life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am so grateful for your article post.Much thanks again. Cool.

  2. Major thankies for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Want more.

  3. Im obliged for the blog article. Fantastic.

  4. Very informative blog post.Much thanks again. Much obliged.

Leave a Reply

