[Life] QoL Nerfs

I’ll be upfront, this is a cathartic post with strong leanings into MOBA terminology, so bear with the ranty-ranting and mumbo-jumbo. Its been a pretty shitty week; for just about everyone. A number of famous people die and Steven Tyler is still on American Idol. Personally though, its a cluster bomb of mostly annoying things that just happened all at once. To use an analogy, life just hit me with a stun Tibbers and bursted me down faster than I could react. And I suppose I’ve had it coming, I’ve been way too effective recently, taken too many towers with out reprisal. I knocked out 18 pages and two books in a month, worked late everyday, and still got some sketching done. My art’s never been better and I feel alive for the most part.

Well, guess that was breaking things. Feels like life rolled out a patch this week with some quality of life nerfs. My 360, a loyal comrade in the world of gaming of five years, died this week. Her replacement RRoD’d the moment after I unboxed it. This of course coming on the day Mass Effect 3’s demo hit. At the same time, my brand new Logitech G300 just up and dies. Each of these came on the heels of a pretty hard nerf to Soraka’s sustain and early game in League. Its not just gaming though, anime and manga took a hard hit as well. In a decisive move, Viz Media finally brought the hammer on MangaStream, prohibiting them from posting scanalations of WSJ series. This is in response to them launching Shonen Jump Advance, a platform that hosts manga digitally and is subscription based. For your $1/wk you get to read chapters of a select set of series, with an archive that lasts about a month before the chapters are no longer available. I’m not going to argue for or against, but I will say that it’s put a cramp on my manga habit. Today though, life hit me the nerf bat again. Starting in March, FiOS will no longer carry the FUNimation channel; one of the reasons I went with FiOS for TV in the first place.

 

Anyway, I plan to have a real post in a few days. I’ve got things i want to talk about. (Now if i only had people to talk with)

 

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 02/15/2012, in Gaming, Rants, Slice of life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sean Lane Fuller

    I was feeling great until I read this. Just kidding. Keep your chin up. Things will get better.

  2. That has been this week…not to mention the sudden starting of work that put a cramp on all things we planned on doing.

Leave a Reply

