Sorry, been a bit busy

Between trying to move and work ramping up, I’ve not had much time to be creative. It probably doesn’t help that Mass Effect 3 comes out in March and I’m playing through the first two again–shouting about my job while shooting Geth. Also, the Vita comes out tomorrow, so excite!

Unsurprisingly the release of the Vita has lead to some new friends, one of whom I have to have known before. He’s friends with all the folks who worked at Gamestop around the same time I did. The best thing is he’s the Sony Rep for Richmond, so after hanging out for a bit (and hopefully trading blows in BlazBlue tomorrow) I’ll have another reference for my application to Bethesda. Oh right, I didn’t tell you all about that.

Seeing as Renee and I are moving up to NoVA for her job, I figured ‘what the hell” and looked over Bethesda’s Career page. Best thing: THE job I’ve always wanted has an opening. Quest Design! Frack yes! Now to just land it…

In more relevant news, I got my first packet back from Nancy on Friday. She seemed to like my idea but had issues with my execution. You know, I get that a lot. The world your characters live in is amazing, they however feel like cardboard. I love where you’re going with the premise, but its way to heavy for just a short story. Putting bacon on fried chicken was a good idea, but because you did so poorly making it neither the chicken nor the bacon are crispy.

Speaking of good ideas with poor execution, I got my first bonafide rejection letter this week. No surprise really as it was the piece I submitted to Jim’s workshop, I already knew it wasn’t going to cut the mustard. In a way its validation, its the first attempt at the boss fight. However, just like every other bit of feedback I’ve picked up in the last few months, the same few words keep coming back to me. “This reads like a chapter, not a story.”

I really don’t know what to do with that response. I wish I did. I sit down to just come up with a story and go with it, but almost every single time, through answering questions I have about the setting or trying to justify the action, I end up with a novel excerpt and a lack-luster single sitting reading experience.

I wonder how Doyle and Christie managed to have episodic fiction that felt like separate experiences. I suppose having an established setting of London or a quiet town in the country cuts out half the battle right there. How do Sci-Fi/Fantasy writers do that though? I’ve got to juggle the setting, the plot, characters and their back stories, and still have it come in under twenty pages. It really is a tall order. Each sentence has to be precision crafted, to do the work of two or three. Each word has to contribute. Every single page has to mean something. It feels like such deliberate penmanship beyond me.

Then again, I said that about drawing.

Anyway, ’til next time!

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 02/21/2012, in Slice of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

