[Wednesday Rambling] The problem of expressing general creativity as a talent

I apologize upfront, this post is going to be very cathartic.

Check out all my Ramblings

In my hunt for new employment, I’ve been looking around at design and concept jobs, mostly because I figure having ideas is a key requisite for such things, and boy, do I have ideas!

Except, I don’t have any concrete expression of my ideas. Nothing that I can point to and say “See look, I really am a creative individual” I mean yeah, I write and I’m good enough at that to be accepted into an MFA program, but no one in the real world cares about writing unless you’ve been published with a reputable publication or house or your someone famous writing a blog. Every job I’ve looked at wants a portfolio of some kind and I just don’t have one. It’s not like I’ve got anything to show for all my creativity beyond this blog and a couple posting on some forums and galleries–none of which is really anything to be proud of.

What it comes down to is this: On paper, I look very bland and there is no real indication of the creative person behind the resume’. I look like someone who just happened to get through college by luck and sheer force of will. Although I suppose that’s really what happened its also not all of who I am. However, it isn’t like you can put down worked ‘three jobs simultaneously while still going to school full time just to have a roof’ or ‘Didn’t give up when everything was going wrong’ with a straight face. So instead of being able to put down character strengths, my resume’ is pretty much blank. I have no clubs or other academic things, because I didn’t have the time. I tried. I really did, but I had work most nights and classes all day and then I got my current job and pretty much switched to only being on campus at night for classes. In a very real sense, Aug 2009 was when I stopped going to college as a student and started going as a professional.

It doesn’t help that I haven’t really written anything since my rejection from Stonecoast in October. Yes, I did get in not two months later, but I still haven’t really healed from the blow to my creative drive. I sort of feel into this spiral of ‘Well I guess mundane average life is all I’m good for’ and even trying to climb out of it only reinforces it. It probably doesn’t help that I spent much of my day hunkered down over a laptop where chat boxes are my only contact with people. I don’t go to work any more, due to having moved, but it wasn’t like I went to work before either. What started out as a job with a fair number of co-workers became a 10 hour day with no one to talk to and only my thoughts as company. Which is why I’ve been looking for employment, to break the spiral. I just don’t want to end up in another job like this one.

Anyway…without a physical representation of your creativity and ideas, how can you prove to employers that you are indeed a creative individual?

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 04/26/2012, in Slice of life, Wednesday Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. seanlanefuller

    What sort of job are you looking for that would list creativity as a top asset? There are a lot of kinds of creativity. What kind are they looking for? To prove you are creative, I would recommend you target the type of creativity they are looking for. One way to show general creativity without a portfolio would be to show it in your resume. Maybe a video resume, or a web site. Hey, I’ve got an idea, how about a singing telegram resume. I’ve never heard of one of those.

    • The jobs I’ve been looking at most have been web apps or user experience kinds of things. You know something that a hybrid Comp Sci and English degree would be good for. I suppose my biggest detriment is I am woefully behind on what you can do with HTML5 and CSS3

  2. Talk is cheap. I learned this the hard way when I first graduated from college and started looking for “big boy” jobs. No matter how much creativity you may possess, people want proof of some sort.

    For instance, I have a friend who does a lot of game design stuff in his spare time, but he does not actually showcase his work anywhere beyond his personal amusement. He also likes to claim he is a very good game designer, but from an outsider’s perspective this is a hard pill to swallow. Again, talk is cheap. Proof is valuable.

    The way I see it, any little bit helps. Be proud to show the work you think is presentable, whether it is writing or something else.

    Take this LoL champion I designed for fun: http://forum.leaguecraft.com/index.php?/topic/37745-kiya-the-feline-of-fervor/

    I like to think the amount of effort I put into just the forum post alone reflects something about my personality/creativity.

    Prove to others that you are special! >^..^<

Leave a Reply

