[Extra Ramblings] Live from Stonecoast

Hi all,Check out all my Ramblings

Just dropping a line since I’ve got some time before dinner and if I nap I’ll probably stay asleep for hours.

First workshop is done–well, I got my work critiqued at least, we still have two days and four people left–and it went well. I’ve got a solid direction for Tess and Kao, so I’ll likely work onHaunting when I get back then try to get Death’s Red Letter (the duo’s Study in Scarlet) drafted. I’ve also got Curse to work on and part of Fourfold is up for crit in the second workshop. So who knows, beyond that I’ll be busy. The presentations have all been wonderful So far there’s been a panel on E-Publishing, a graduate lecture on creating Graphic Novels, and the history of the Tarot deck and how to use its archetypes to help writing–and these are just the ones i attended. There were four other faculty presentations and two graduate.

More than the work though, the feeling of being up here with people who get me more than my coworkers do is a big boost. Granted, my working from home has blunted my already low threshold for dealing with large numbers of people, so I’m very drained, but there’s a lot of positive energy and it is really blowing away the funk. Even so, I still don’t feel like I fit in–something that is likely just as much me as anything else. I mean, everyone smiles when they see me and make casual conversation, but I just don’t know what to talk about beyond that. It just seems to come so naturally for everyone else, even if it doesn’t really. Either way, I’m trying to get over it, I am signing up for a life of talking with people I don’t know and need to get better at it.

Anyway, that’s about it. Gonna go grab dinner before the night’s faculty readings. Catch you all Wednesday

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 07/08/2012, in Wednesday Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You’ll get there…school is the environment to practice in after all 😀

Leave a Reply

