[Wednesday Ramblings] Hybrids and Racisim

Check out all my RamblingsAs some of you  may know, I write some of my stories in a setting that’s an alternate version of our world inhabited by hybrid characters–visually humans with animal bits tacked on as opposed to full anthromorphs. What you might not know is how much I agonize over how it will be received once I complete something. You might think then that I’m putting the cart before the horse a bit, after all I’ve got nothing to show for the setting aside from a couple story drafts. Well, I’ve had those two stories workshopped and the question that always comes up is: what does Tess being a spider mean?

Of course, to me, Tess being a spider doesn’t mean anything, its just who she is. Yet I get the nagging feeling that’s not how people will see it. While I’m pretty sure I’ve not wandered into dangerous territory of actively being terrible, like this author, I’m still worried that people’s perceptions of what animals represent will cause people to see implied or even overt racism. For instance, suppose a character has lion heritage. Would it be racist if he wore his mane in dreadlocks and was rastafarian? I’m not sure, though it’s pretty stereotypical it’s also something I came up with actively, drawing on both logical and emotional connections (I’m sure all those Bob Marley posters with Lions super imposed over him don’t help). What about something I didn’t even make with an aweness of it, how far off the deep end could it be taken?

I guess in that regard I can’t worry about it. Do my best to avoid I need to get my foot stuck in my throat before I know and that means getting back to writing, which I’ll go do know. Catch ya’ll next week.

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 08/22/2012, in Wednesday Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. As much as people would like to think they don’t see things like color/appearances, it is in our nature to perceive that which is different. If people say they don’t see race or color, they are lying. Unless they are literally blind, human brains will process that someone is not like someone else. It is not inherently racist or anything – it is just how humans operate.

    With this in mind, I believe a lot of of people try too hard in analyzing, both over and under, the notion of race. Sometimes, someone is black or whatever because they are. There could be no agenda or real reason behind it.

    Heck, I also can relate to the animal thing of yours. Like when I put together Kiya.

    http://leagueoflegends.wikia.com/wiki/User_blog:Nhan-Fiction/(Custom,_Fan-made_Champion)_Kiya,_The_Feline_of_Fervor?s=wl#article-comments

    Like, maybe I just wanted to put together a cat character … Do I need a rationale behind it?

Leave a Reply

