[Wednesday Ramblings] In Abstract

Check out all my RamblingsIts interesting that, when I think about it, there isn’t very much of the Literary Canon that I’ve actually read. Like, I know the Odyssey back to front, but I don’t think I’ve ever read the entire manuscript. I know it in the abstract, I’ve read books about it, I’ve seen and heard lectures about it, it’s characters and tropes have been the center of many a discussion, but I don’t ever recall reading the whole thing. It’s sort of the same for most staples. I know of them and I know their general gist, but I don’t think I’ve ever read them. Even with things in my genre, most of my knowledge is second hand.

Really that’s all I have to say, it was just kind of a sad and yet profound realization about my professional state that I had this morning.

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 12/05/2012, in Wednesday Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So get out there and read it! Read all the thing! There is all the reason in the world to do so and very little not to.

Leave a Reply

