[Magic Mondays] The Joys of a Rogue Deck — Piloting RUG Flash

MY co,umn about Magic: The GahteringNot an hour after last week’s post I blew the build up and decided to go back to my roots–which probably could use some sketching out. I started Magic with Starter ’99 and really got to playing when Odyssey hit. During that time I played a brew that came to be known as UG Madness. Part Combo, Part Aggro, the deck could transform mid-game to respond to threats. With a Wild Mongrel on the field, I could drop threats on their turn, I could make my creatures jump over theirs, I could discard spells and play them as a lower cost. It was very nearly unpredictable what I could play that turn and along with Nimble Mongoose, the deck stomped. With as much Flash in the format as there is I couldn’t resist trying to capturing the feeling again and thus RUG Flash was born.

Lands
4 Steam Vents
4 Hinterland Harbor
2 Rootbound Crag
2 Kessig Wolf Run
5 Forest
3 Island
3 Mountain
Creatures
3 Izzet Staticaster
3 Wolfir Avenger
4 Huntmaster of the Fells
4 Thragtusk
3 Thundermaw Hellkite
3 Snapcaster Mage
Spells
3 Farseek
4 Thoughtscour
3 Unsummon
3 Searing Spear
2 Dissipate (was Counterflux, might end up Negate)
2 Rewind

I think I’m going to take out the 3 Farseek to put Yeva back in and cut one (or more) ‘tusks and to add some other lower cost creatures that can abuse Yeva’s passive like Mayor of Avabruck for end of turn shenanigans. Midrange with the Rewind threat is fun and all, but until I can fetch Breeding Pool, having both Avenger (Or Yeva) and Rewind up is hard unless I’ve miraclously hit two Hinterlands. That isn’t to say that Staticast isn’t a wonderful threat, but it’s not like she cracks back for anything. For now, I might be better off with more instant speed draw or single green creatures. Not too worried though, with less than a month to Gatecrash, I’ve got plenty of time to test and see how the deck plays out and make adjustments.

As it is however, the deck did what I expected. Because of how it plays, most matchups are are pretty even and because people haven’t seen it before they aren’t sure how to play around it. Multiple times in each match my opponent sat back and wondered out loud what it was I was playing, typically after an Avenger came out after a Rewind or I dropped a Thundermaw when they tapped out at EOT to counter said Avenger. When they guy who was playing Reanimator cast Slaughter Games on me, he seemed stunned as he thumbed through my library looking for Rewinds. “I like what you’re doing there,” he said while shuffling it after. “Looks like a lot of fun, still don’t know what it is you’re doing though.” Even though I didn’t place, as a Johnny, I like to think I still won yesterday. The  feeling of watching people face down something they had never seen before was worth any number of byes.

Anyway, let me know if you give this deck a spin at your FNM this week and as always comments and feedback are welcome. Catch ya’ll next week!

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 12/17/2012, in Gaming, Magic Mondays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

