[Magic Mondays: Extra!] Dega Deck Wins

MY co,umn about Magic: The GahteringBeen working on a deck in between stints on my Third Semester Project. Pretty Happy with this load out, though it’s going to take forever to get the mana base in place.

4 Legion Loyalist
4 Goblin Arsonist
4 Ash Zealot
4 Rakdos Shred-Freak
3 Falkenrath Aristocrat
3 Spark Trooper
2 Rolling Temblor
2 Aurelia’s Fury
2 Rakdos’s Return
4 Bump in the Night
4 Boros Charm
4 Searing Spear
6 Mountain
4 Blood Crypt
4 Sacred Foundry
2 Clifftop Retreat
2 Dragonskull Summit
2 Godless Shrine

Oh yeah! RWB beatdown. I don’t know why I can’t quit this wedge, maybe its because the color trio doesn’t really have an identity like some of the other wedges, but I really want to make it work. The format is full of spells and creatures that are part red, part black/white, and all beat to the face. I wonder where I would have been at the open had I not given up on my original build that nearly won me a couple GPTs and gone with Dega Humans which lacked any real bite. So I’m going back to Rakdos Wins with a splash of Boros to see if Dega can’t win a couple games.

As with my Dirty Red build before it, this deck finishes with Falkenrath Aristocrat; however, the Vampire is bringing a friend this time in the form of the newly printed Spark Trooper. He may just be a Ball Lighting Helix, but a 12 point swing on turn 4 or 5 is massive for this deck.

Even if they’ve dropped Huntmaster or Thragtusk, they won’t widen the gap, I’m still right there in their face. While not the massive threat that is Thundermaw Hellkite, both of these hasty front loaded beaters can’t be killed by Ultimate Price and as always Aristocrat dodges everything that isn’t Tragic Slip. The mirror will be very tough on Spark Trooper, so I’ll need to figure out what to do about that.

“But Trevor! There’s all this first strike in the format right now! Between Thalia, Silverblade, and Pike, you’ll be lucky to ever hit with Spark Trooper!”

Yup, that’s why we’re running the Legion Loyalist. On top of being a straight upgrade to Raging Goblin (one of my favorite cards) he’s a massive enabler that the deck was missing pre-Gatecrash. My biggest problem at the Baltimore Open (aside from trying to run a wedge in a format that hated it out) was that Kruin striker was my only trample source, which meant I needed to spend critical burn to clear the way instead of going for the dome. Now though, I just need to swing three hasty guys and they’ll crash over the opposition like a tide.

I do think that I might be going a bit heavy with both Rakdos’ Return and Aurelia’s Fury, but each have their purpose as reach and disable. I’ll likely pick one and run three of in the near future, but for now a 2:2 split isn’t bad. I’m not unhappy to draw either in most cases. I do wonder how the deck will run without Silverblade, but I feel like only having RR as my main commitment to hit and not both RR and WW, that the deck will run much smoother in just about every case. I really want to run Five Alarm Fire, but agian, not sure if I can mana base for it.  If I’m going to tap out on turn three, I better have dropped three guys already.

Really this is all spit balling and I won’t know how the deck works until I get a few rounds in with it.

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 01/24/2013, in Gaming, Magic Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

