[Magic Mondays] That Pro Tour

MY co,umn about Magic: The GahteringMany who might be reading this are already aware that Tom Martell took PT Gatecrash with his “The Aristocrats” deck, which,  believe it or not, was RWB Aggro-Control. I’ve been trying to crack the wedge since the Baltimore Open and a solution is finally here. I mean look at the list run by both him and Sam Black as opposed to my Baltimore list. There are some definite gaps with Gatecrash having not been around, but I feel like had that weekend not been so soul crushing, I likely would have stuck with this list and been in a spot that was ready to just slot the Reckoner and Shocks in.

Always trust my gut, it would seem.

4  Blood Crypt
3  Cavern of Souls
1  Clifftop Retreat
4  Godless Shrine
4  Isolated Chapel
3  Plains
4  Sacred Foundry
1  Vault of the Archangel


24 lands

4  Boros Reckoner
4  Cartel Aristocrat
4  Champion of the Parish
4  Doomed Traveler
4  Falkenrath Aristocrat
3  Knight of Infamy
1  Restoration Angel
2  Silverblade Paladin
2  Skirsdag High Priest
2  Zealous Conscripts


30 creatures

2  Lingering Souls
4  Orzhov Charm


6 other spells

Sideboard

2  Blasphemous Act
2  Lingering Souls
1  Mentor of the Meek
2  Obzedat, Ghost Council
2  Rest in Peace
1  Skirsdag High Priest
2  Sorin, Lord of Innistrad
3  Tragic Slip


15 sideboard cards

4 Blood Crypt
4 Clifftop Retreat
4 Isolated Chapel
3 Plains
3 Swamp
3 Mountain
2 Cavern of Souls


23 lands

4 Champion of the Parish
4 Kruin Striker
3 Silverblade Paladin
2 Sublime Archangel
4 Knight of Glory
4 Knight of Infamy
3 Falkenrath Aristocrat


24 Creatures

3 Duress
4 Faithless Looting
4 Krenko’s Command
2 Mizzium Mortars


13 Other Spells

Other than that, there isn’t much to talk about. I don’t get any play this weekend as I was at a wedding with Rei. Going over to The Pillage tonight for some Monday Night Standard so I can get Life Bomb(WB Vizkopia Guildmage+ Exquisite Blood combo) in order so I have something to play in Standard side events should I scrub out at Charlotte.  Hopefully my phone doesn’t die before I even get my cards this time and I’ll actually be able to tweet about the rounds.

For any who are going to be at GP Charlotte, drop me a line here or on Twitter.

See ya’ll next time!

About Trevor Gulley

Trevor Gulley is a writer, cartoonist, and gamer. He works full time in the IT industry and judges Magic most weekends.

Posted on 02/18/2013, in Gaming, Magic Mondays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

